2022 Faculty Awards




December 21, 2022


2022 Faculty Awards


The University of Oregon is home to highly acclaimed researchers who are available to media for expert commentary and opinion. Here are some of their notable achievements from 2022.


Two faculty members were recognized for their achievement as inventors:



            Anshuman “AR” Razdan


Anshuman Razdan  .jpeg


The UO’s vice president for research and innovation, Anshuman “AR” Razdan, was elected to the 2022 class of fellows of the National Academy of Inventors in recognition of his contributions to the field of computer science. Razdan, a professor of computer science, holds multiple patents, including on 3-D face authentication and document exploitation as well as image processing.



            Susan Sokolowski


Susan Sokolowski.jpeg



Susan Sokolowski, who has played an integral role in making sportswear more inclusive, became the first woman in Oregon to be elected a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.​​ The award recognizes her contributions to the design of products for special populations, including women, children, people of extended sizes, aging populations and disabled athletes.




Faculty members Jayson PauloseBen FarrDon Daniels, and Ramakrishnan Durairajan (pictured left to right) received CAREER Awards, the National Science Foundation’s most prestigious award in support of early-career faculty:

Physicists Jayson Paulose and Ben Farr for their work on behavior of materials and gravitational waves. Paulose’s research is on soft-matter physics and focuses on studying the behavior of natural, biological and artificial materials, including micromechanical resonators, miniature robots and even bacteria. Farr works with the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory, a large-scale physics experiment that focuses on surveying the population of black holes and understanding the physical mechanisms of black holes and neutron stars.

Don Daniels for his work documenting underdocumented languages on Papua New Guinea, the most linguistically diverse country on Earth. The work involves recording the language in use, transcribing recordings and translating them for those who don’t speak the language.

Computer scientist Ramakrishnan Durairajan for his research on reducing management barriers that enterprises face when using multiple cloud computing services.

Other faculty members who earned awards in recognition for their research include:


Biologists Daniel Grimes (left) and David Garcia, who received NIH Maximizing Investigators’ Research Awards to study questions of embryo development and abnormal proteins, respectively. Grimes' lab will be using its new funding to research how embryos decide which way is left and which way is right. The positioning is critical, as it determines how the organs will be positioned as the embryo grows. The NIH funding will allow Garcia and his team to dive more deeply into the effects of prion proteins. Because of the challenge of discovering prion proteins, understanding how they can be beneficial to life is very limited. Garcia’s research hopes to add to the understanding of this phenomenon and help explain prion proteins’ role in evolution.



Bioengineer Marian Hettiaratchi, who received the NIH Trailblazer Award for research focused on protein delivery for healing and the treatment of severe injuries that can result in impaired tissue regeneration. Hettiaratchi’s research focuses on combining chemical and biomedical engineering approaches, and seeks to create effective protein delivery vehicles for regenerative medicine. By integrating cutting-edge techniques in protein engineering, polymer chemistry and computational modeling, she designs versatile, clinically relevant biomaterials that can precisely deliver proteins critical to the healing process.

Hettiaratchi also received a National Institutes of Health R35 Maximizing Investigators' Research Award (MIRA) for Early Stage Investigators to develop “affinity-based biomaterials” to control the delivery of proteins to treat injured tissues; a Discovery Award from the Department of Defense’s Peer Reviewed Medical Research Program to develop a strategy to better localize proteins within clinical biomaterials to stimulate bone repair; and a grant from the Donald and Delia Baxter Foundation to examine the roles of biochemical and mechanical signals in central nervous system injury and repair. 


Parisa Hosseinzadeh (left) and Calin Plesa, faculty members at the Knight Campus for Accelerating Scientific Impact, each received NIH Director’s New Innovators Awards for their work on generating peptides as powerful therapeutics to aid in the fight against disease; and addressing the growing need for antibodies for both basic research and therapeutics, respectively..

Other faculty members were recognized their contributions to research over the course of their careers


Chuck Kimmel, emeritus professor of biology, was elected to National Academy of Sciences​​ for his work with zebrafish and establishing new lines of genetic research. Kimmel took over leadership of the UO’s renowned and pioneering zebrafish laboratory from George Streisinger in 1984.


Paul Slovic received the Bower Award for Achievement in Science​​, an honor he shares with Albert Einstein and Marie Curie, for his research on risk perception and psychic numbing.