Brau, DeRose and Tyler elected AAAS fellows

EUGENE, Ore. — (Dec. 17, 2009) — Three University of Oregon scientists – James E. Brau, Victoria J. DeRose and David R. Tyler – have been chosen as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year’s 531 new AAAS Fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Dec. 18. Fellows are chosen because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. They will formally be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 20, during the 2010 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego.

UO physicist Jim BrauBrau, the UO's Knight Professor of Natural Science, was selected for his "distinguished contributions to the field of elementary particle physics, particularly for developing and applying new technologies to facilitate precision tests of the Standard Model."

DeRose, professor of chemistry, was chosen for her "significant achievements in developing spectroscopic methods towards understanding the metallobiochemistry of RNA, and for service to the interdisciplinary scientific community."

Photo of David Tylet\rTyler, who holds the UO's first Charles J. and M. Monteith Jacobs Professorship in Chemistry, was picked for his "distinguished contributions to the fields of inorganic, organometallic, and polymer chemistry, particularly for our understanding of radical reactions and of polymer degradation."

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science, as well as Science Translational Medicine and Science Signaling. AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.